Credit: Getty/ Jim Dyson    
Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter0


New Amy Winehouse Song, ”Like Smoke,” Premieres From Posthumous Album

Amy Winehouse was a longtime fan of rapper Nas — she even rapped about the hip-hop star, born Nasir Jones, in her song "Me and Mr. Jones" — which makes it especially gratifying to hear her collaboration with him, "Like Smoke," taken from her forthcoming posthumous album, Lioness: Hidden Treasures.

The track, which was helmed by Amy's longtime producer Salaam Remi, is a bluesy, moody song featuring gorgeously raspy vocals from Amy and rapid-fire, sharply clever verses from Nas (though it's hard not to get a little misty listening to Nas rap about the pearly gates, given that his verses were recorded following Amy's death in July). Given how posthumous albums can feel rushed and inconsistent, it's exciting to hear something so promising from the upcoming release — and a timely reminder of Amy's incredible talent.

Credit: Amazon    

The full track listing for the album, due out Dec. 6, is below:

01. Our Day Will Come (Ruby & The Romantics cover)
02. Between the Cheats
03. Tears Dry On Their Own (Alternate)
04. Wake Up Alone (Alternate)
05. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow (The Shirelles cover)
06. Valerie (Alternate)
07. Like Smoke (feat. Nas)
08. The Girl From Ipanema
09. Halftime
10. Best Friends
11. Body & Soul (feat. Tony Bennett)
12. A Song For You (Donny Hathaway cover)

Lioness: Hidden Treasures is available for pre-order on Amazon and iTunes.

11.7.2011 / 04:16 AM EDT by Sam Lansky
Related: News, Gossip

Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter0