Emmys to Split Reality TV Award Category Into Two Parts

Emmy Awards

Emmys to Split Reality TV Award Category Into Two Parts

It’s official: Reality TV has grown to be such a monster the Emmys have decided to split its Reality TV category into two different sections. Starting with the 66th Annual Primetime Emmys, reality TV awards will be handed out to both “structured” and “unstructured” shows.

What’s that mean exactly? While before there were simply the Outstanding Reality-Competition Program and Outstanding Reality Program categories. Now that latter one is being split into two: Outstanding Structured Reality Program and Outstanding Unstructured Reality Program.

Structured means shows like MythBusters or Antiques Roadshow — those shows that document real life but clearly have a rhyme and reason to them. Unstructured, on the other hand, includes series like Duck Dynasty and Pawn Stars, which don’t necessarily follow a set script.

The Television Academy’s Board of Governors, which voted on the change February 20, explained, “As with miniseries and movies, there is a general industry uptrend in two different types of narrative reality programming and the split accommodates that trend.”

A prize for reality TV programming has been around since 2004 with entertainment site GoldDerby reporting of the 10 races so far, seven wins have been for “structured” shows including Queer Eye for the Straight Guy and Extreme Home Makeover: Home Edition. Only three awards have gone to “unstructured” series including Kathy Griffin: Life on the D-List and Deadliest Catch.

What do you make of the change? Think it makes sense or are you a little confused on where the line’s drawn between the two? Tell us in the comments!

Sources: The Wrap, GoldDerby

Elisabeth Kramer is an Assistant Editor at Wetpaint Entertainment and our resident Downton Abbey expert. Follow her on Twitter and Google+!

02.21.2014 / 12:00 AM EDT by Elisabeth Kramer
Related: Emmy Awards, News, TV

Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter0