Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire, the series of novels which HBO’s Game of Thrones is based on, have long been worried that the show would eventually outpace the books, despite assurances from series author George R. R. Martin that it wasn’t going to happen. Now it seems that Martin has changed his tune a bit, since he's finally admitting that he needs to speed up his writing process.

Speaking to New Mexico news station KRQE 13, Martin confesses, “They're making television shows a lot faster than I'm writing novels, so I’ve got to speed up a little.” Martin also said he’s taking his new novel, “one page at a time.”

Of the planned seven books in the series, only five have been published, with the most recent book, A Dance with Dragons, having been released in 2011. The series began with the first book, A Game of Thrones, way back in 1996. Meanwhile, Game of Thrones the television show debuted in 2011, and is already culling content from the fourth and fifth books in the series for its fourth season, set to debut this spring. (Though the focus of Season 4 will still be the third book).

Now that Martin seems to see the writing on the wall, let’s all hope that the sixth book in the series, The Winds of Winter, comes out sooner rather than later.