Game of Thrones Season 4: What Is Braavos?
Credit: HBO    

Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones Season 4: What Is Braavos?

In the latest trailer for Game of Thrones Season 4, we catch a clear glimpse of a giant statue straddling a waterway. Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire, novels which the show is based on, were quick to recognize this figure as the Titan of Braavos, but for the rest of us, just what exactly is Braavos?

Braavos is one of the Free Cities of Essos, the continent to the East of Westeros. There are nine Free Cities: Braavos, Pentos, Norvos, Myr, Tyrosh, Lys, Volantis, Qohor, and Lorath. All of them are located in the western part of Essos, making them the part of that continent most interested in what’s going on in Westeros. We’ve met some characters on the show that hail from some of the cities. Thoros of Myr is from, you guessed it, Myr, while Varys is originally from Lys. We’ve even seen one of the cities, Pentos, way back in Season 1. It’s where Dany began her journey at the estate of Illyrio Mopatis.

But we’re interested in Braavos. We’ve met two characters from Braavos so far on the show, and they’re both involved in Arya Stark’s storyline. First there was her dancing instructor, Syrio Forel. Then there was the faceless man, Jaqen H’ghar, who gave her a Braavosi coin that she still carries with her, so maybe Arya pays the city a visit in Season 4.

Braavos is also where you’ll find the Iron Bank of Braavos, a financial institution from which the Iron Throne draws funds. We know for sure that we’ll meet at least one representative of the bank in Season 4, Tycho Nestoris (Mark Gatiss), so his appearance could very well be the reason for our visit to the city, but we won’t know for sure until Season 4 starts!