Grey’s Anatomy Shut Out of Emmy Nominations — Even Sandra Oh
Credit: Ron Tom/ABC @ 2014 American Broadcasting Companies, Inc.    

Grey's Anatomy

Grey’s Anatomy Shut Out of Emmy Nominations — Even Sandra Oh

Season 10 was a great chapter in Grey's Anatomy history — but it won't be a golden one.

The show didn't receive any nominations for this year's 66th Primetime Emmy Awards, as the nominee announcements this morning (July 10) revealed.

Many fans and critics — ourselves included — were hoping for a nomination for Sandra Oh (Cristina Yang), at least, since Season 10 was her last and arguably best season on the show.

As we previously reported, the creative forces on- and off-screen submitted 27 entries on the ballot.

Most of the show's cast — namely, all the series regulars except the ones playing second-year residents — had put their names into contention. Six guest actors did, as well — including Isaiah Washington (Preston Burke), Jason George (Ben Warren), and Debbie Allen (Catherine Avery).

Additionally, Chandra Wilson (Miranda Bailey) and Kevin McKidd (Owen Hunt) also submitted themselves for consideration in the directing categories.

This is the second season in a row that Grey's has been shut out. If it weren't for Loretta Devine's back-to-back Guest Actress nominations for the prior two years, this would be the fourth season in a row.

Don't feel too bad for Grey's, though — the show has earned 39 Emmy nominations thus far, with 5 wins.

And Sandra can be proud of the fact that she's the show's most-nominated actor, receiving five nods between 2005 and 2009.

Besides, the only award with which these docs should be concerned is the Harper Avery, are we right?

Dan Clarendon is an assistant editor at Wetpaint Entertainment. Follow him on Twitter and Google+!